If a tree falls

When you live your life on the riverbank, you are always at risk of losing the ground beneath your feet.

fallen treeThe fallen tree was once a tall oak. Seldom do you get to see a whole tree, roots and all. This tree would have been a great object lesson for my grade 4 teacher—no leaves to obscure the systematic forking of the branches, and not much soil to obscure the mirroring root structure. Just a clod of riverbank clay to which the roots have clung, but to no avail. When the riverbank crumbles it crumbles, and if you happen to be standing on the broken bit, you go with it.

Sometimes we can read the warnings. The ground cracks. Fissures appear in the grass and loose soil tumbles down the bank. There are human-made warning signs too. But even if you could warn a tree it wouldn’t help. Because the tree can’t take a step back.

A healthy tree can bend and flex to withstand the force of tremendous winds. But it has no defense against the force of erosion. And if a tree falls, there’s no getting it back up on its feet. It’s pretty hard to transplant a fully grown oak.

erosion signFortunately, when the ground beneath my feet gives way, as it has more times than I care to contemplate, I am not bound by the force of my own roots to succumb to the collapse. At the core of my resilience is the knowledge that I can take a step back and regroup when I see the warning signs. I may slide and lose my balance for a while, but I can head off the big fall with evasive maneuvers.

Most of the time. There are still moments when the ground beneath me opens up without warning and I find myself suspended over nothing, like Wile E. Coyote sprinting past the cliff’s edge. The secret, of course, is not to look down. Wile E. only falls when he looks down. You won’t always notice when I’m travelling across the void, because the years have taught me to keep going forwards until eventually my feet touch solid ground again on the other side. And take root in new soil.

Know the signs...

Know the signs…

Lately I’ve been noticing some cracks in the soil around my feet. Some things that mattered a great deal to me seem less important now, and other things are gaining prominence. I can feel my universe start to slide. In my sixth decade am coming to a new realization—now that I have learned to cross the void when it comes, I don’t need to wait until I lose my footing. I can step off the edge and navigate the air to a new solid ground. Because you can transplant a fully grown person.

This post has been entered in a weekly writing challenge. Click the button below to read other entries, and on Thursday vote for your 5 favourites.

About Muddy River Muse

Writer. Reader Educator. Manager. Mother. Dreamer. And dedicated riverbank walker.
This entry was posted in A river runs through it and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to If a tree falls

  1. Randee says:

    Now that’s an analogy! Good job! And I can totally picture Wile E. Coyote. I forgot that he wouldn’t fall until he looked down.

  2. Kathryn Shultz has another great take on Wile E. Coyote’s mid-air suspension in her book “Being Wrong.” Here’s her TED talk: http://www.ted.com/talks/kathryn_schulz_on_being_wrong.html

  3. I love the Wile E. Coyote reference.

  4. Tua says:

    You have got to be so intelligent to be able to analogize like that! Especially that Will E. Coyote line; I think it’s going to be one of my quotable quotes. Lovely post. 🙂

  5. mamarific says:

    Very thought provoking. And I appreciate your wisdom that has come from six decades on this earth. Well done.

  6. Thanks– I’m still working on that sixth decade, but enjoying the journey.

  7. bethteliho says:

    Gorgeous analogy. You write so beautifully – I was completely drawn in. Lovely post. 🙂

  8. Gwen says:

    This is a really touching piece of writing. It’s very empowering to realize that you are not the victim of the cracks in the world around you. I look forward to reading more!

  9. jannatwrites says:

    I’ve never lived by a river, but I like how you explained how precarious roots can be, and then how you compared this to our footing in our own lives. (Great reference to Wile E. – I won’t look down!) I love the statement about how you can transplant a fully grown person. So true, but we often forget that!

  10. I like the effectiveness of the comparison/metaphor here. Nothing like sliding ground (literal OR metaphorical) to keep you from getting too comfortable!

  11. Pingback: I go walking: in the snow | Muddy River Muse

Leave a Reply

