Anne and Anna have a chat

After my stern critique of yesterday’s Daily Prompt, I’m kind of relieved to see a topic that I can have some fun with. Today’s prompt is: “Tell us about a favorite character from film, theater, or literature, with whom you’d like to have a heart-to-heart. What would you talk about?” Actually I can think of any number of literary characters I would like to have a frank chat with, but I’m going to stick with the one that popped into my head first…

Hey Anne. It’s been too long!

Uh, do I know you?

It’s me, Anna. I read all your books, over and over. And not just the first three that everyone reads, but the whole series. In fact I have to admit that it was the later books that I loved the best. You know the ones– there was Anne’s House of Dreams in which you and Gilbert got married, and  Anne of Ingleside all about your children and your life together as a family.

Seriously? You liked those best? It seems like the rest of the world got stuck on me as a gangly kid with red pigtails and a penchant for getting into trouble! What was it about my grown-up life that was so fascinating to you?

The mere fact that it was a grown-up life. You see, when I first read about your life at Green Gables, you and I were about the same age. But then I got to watch you grow up. Fall in love. Get married. Have kids. Watch them grow up. Following your story through from adolescence into all those adult experiences somehow made it possible to imagine those things someday becoming part of my life.

And did they?

They did, although, not quite the way I imagined. I didn’t have to watch my babies go off to war like you did in Rilla of Ingleside, but I had lots of other griefs along the way. The wonderful thing about your story was that it didn’t end with the wedding like so much of that happy-ever-after nonsense you see in the movies. You had adult worries to go with those adult experiences. Babies died. Loved ones became ill. Relationships faltered. It wasn’t always sunshine and roses for your family.

Well that wouldn’t be very interesting if it was, would it? And it certainly wouldn’t be very real.

Exactly! And I have to tell you Anne, you and your family were very real to me back when I was reading and rereading your story forty years ago. In fact I… oh, never mind.

Never mind what? What were you about to say?

Nothing. Really.

No, you were about to say something. I’m sure of it. Come on– as big a fan as you are, surely you can be honest with me!

Well… Oh this is awfully awkward. What I was going to say is that I… well… I actually had a pretty big crush on Gilbert back then.

HaHa! That was what you hesitated to tell me? Honestly Anna, every girl who read through to the end of my story had a crush on Gilbert Blythe! I was just relieved you all existed safely outside the world of the books.

About Muddy River Muse

Writer. Reader Educator. Manager. Mother. Dreamer. And dedicated riverbank walker.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Memory Lane and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anne and Anna have a chat

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompts: It builds Character | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

