Happy New…anything

calendarIf you really think about it, the hoopla surrounding the arrival of a new year is a bit puzzling. Part of me wants to insist that January 1st is just an ordinary day, made significant only by the inconvenience of having to go out and buy another calendar. There are all sorts of other “new years” we might just as easily recognize. Where I work, everything revolves around a budget year that starts on April 1st. I could easily make my August birthday my own personal year marker.  As a former teacher, the beginning of September still resonates for me as a time for new beginnings. I also grew up with the Christian liturgical year which starts four Sundays before Christmas with the season of Advent. So why make such a big deal about the first day of January?

And yet I still get caught up in it. Not so much in the “new-year’s-resolution” sense, but more in the “reflecting back and looking forwards” sense. As arbitrary as it may be, there is something about the changing from one year number to the next that seems worth celebrating.

Since this is my first New Year’s since starting my blog, I’ve been thinking for some days now about what I wanted to post to celebrate the start of 2014. From what I’ve seen there seem to be three common approaches for an “approaching the New Year” blog post:

  1. The Retrospective post. Given that this blog has only been in existence since September 12, a “year in review” where I revisit all my most popular posts over the past 12 months seems both self-indulgent and silly. Maybe next year.
  2. The Resolutions post. I could write a list of New Year’s resolutions. Except I don’t really make resolutions. At least not in the traditional sense of “here are ten things I’m going to change utterly about my life that I will doubtless have given up on by Valentine’s Day.” More about that later.
  3. The “Why I Don’t Make Resolutions” post. To be honest, this one is the least appealing, mainly because it’s hard not to feel as though it has all been said many times over.

The truth is, the celebration of the New Year appeals to me because it’s all about starting fresh. A new calendar page. A clean slate. Whether you make formal resolutions or not, you are still getting handed a fresh, new untouched bundle of days/weeks/months that are yours to do with what you will.

I like the New Year because it’s a time when, briefly, the rest of the world joins me in reflecting on the positive aspects of change. You see one of the reasons I don’t typically make New Year’s resolutions is that they would be indistinguishable from the resolutions I make every other day. Resolutions about making better use of my time and money. Resolutions about eating healthy and getting more exercise. Resolutions about projects that need finishing and friends I am overdue to call.

A few years ago, during a time when my life was in some chaos, I adopted as my mantra the phrase “change one thing.” I discovered that, regardless how out of control my universe seemed, there was always one thing that I exercised a degree of control over– one aspect of my life in which I could make a choice.  I also discovered that if I changed one small thing, it often led to other bigger changes that I hadn’t dared to hope for.

The changes didn’t have to be big ones. In fact most of the time they weren’t. They were simple things. Make a cup of tea at the office in the morning instead of stopping to buy coffee on the way to work. Rearrange the living room furniture. Go for a walk downtown at lunch instead of surfing Facebook at my desk. The point was simply that they were a change. And a change that resulted from a choice I made.

Which is why I am always making resolutions. Because there is always something worth changing. Always a choice to be made. And because I’m human enough to make lots of bad choices, so there is always room for improvement.

When I was in grade six, my mother decided to quit smoking. But she didn’t just resolve to quit smoking. Instead she told herself: “today, I am not going to have a cigarette.” She told herself that for weeks and months– perhaps years– of consecutive “todays.” The fact that I am telling you this forty years later is some indication of the degree to which I was inspired by her example.

So actually yes, I will be making resolutions for January 1st. But I’m not planning to publish a list of them, because to be honest they aren’t that special. They are the same sort of resolutions I will make for January 27th, or March 11th, or November 16th.  You see, even though we are celebrating the start of a whole new year, the reality is that the year only gets doled out to us one day at a time. And every and any one of those days is a new opportunity to make a small change that will add weight to all the other small changes that ultimately add up to becoming the big changes in your life. So every day is an opportunity for a new resolution. To change one thing.

About Muddy River Muse

Writer. Reader Educator. Manager. Mother. Dreamer. And dedicated riverbank walker.
This entry was posted in Change one thing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy New…anything

  1. MiddleSister says:

    Before I left work for the Christmas break it became incredibly important to me to rearrange my office, so I left the appropriate instructions and am told that my “new” space awaits my return. For the first time in 15 years I will not be sitting with my back to the small windows in my office, making it worthwhile to open the blinds instead of keeping them closed to protect the privacy of what’s on my desk. Your blog puts into words why I am so excited to get back to the office and get everything back into its new place!

  2. Elyse says:

    That is a great way to look at life –one little change after another.

Leave a Reply

