Seeing the whole picture

Albert* was one of the old-timers who sat at the back of the room, moseying their way through high school on the extended plan. To be honest, I suspect that the unspoken consensus among my teacher colleagues was that Albert’s chances of graduating were pretty slim.

In a small Manitoba town in the mid 1980’s Albert’s outward appearance was guaranteed to evoke judgement.  He wore threadbare t-shirts with rock band logos, torn never-washed jeans, and long greasy black hair, perpetually falling in front of his eyes and draped across a complexion ravaged by adolescence and poor nutrition. I never knew whether he lived in town or commuted from the Reserve up the highway. I suspect that there was some degree of undiagnosed Fetal Alcohol Effect in Albert’s story. The teachers who attempted to teach him Math and English despaired over his erratic attendance. But I was the Art teacher, and Albert, I discovered, was an artist.

Albert’s attendance in art, while far from perfect, was somewhat more regular than his attendance in his academic courses. He sat in the back corner of the art room, head down, eyes hidden by his heavy black hair, deeply entranced by whatever project I had conjured up for the week.  Whatever the assignment, Albert produced something beyond my expectations.

In a big city school Albert might have had the option to rack up all manner of high school credits in a comprehensive arts program. But all I had to offer him was one credit per year of his high school career. And at the rate he was going he was going to run out of art options before he ran out of years.

The more I got to know Albert, the more I ached over the disconnect between his artistic talent and the way that everything else about school conspired to beat him down. I wished there was something more I could do provide him with some validation.

One day I had a brainwave. Remembering that there was a process to create a special project for credit, I proposed to Albert the idea of creating a mural. To my delight, he agreed.

And then the bureaucracy began. First the principal hemmed and hawed. He was not a man given to making decisions if he could possibly help it. I suspected that, had Albert been a more conventionally studious student, the answer might have come quicker. Eventually consent was given, on the condition that I consult with the School Division office regarding the acceptable kind of paint to use on the school walls. After another lengthy runaround, I was informed by a bemused Director of Facilities that ordinary latex paint would be just fine. For a location, we agreed on a boring segment of hallway that joined the two wings of the school.

All that was left was the matter of the mural composition. Fearing that I was going to have to go to battle to defend Albert’s artistic freedom, I asked him to draft a prototype on paper before starting. I waited nervously to see what Albert would come back with, scarcely able to imagine what he would propose. Given that his overall school experience had been less than uplifting, I envisioned something dark and angrily abstract.

Albert sought me out late one afternoon. “I’ve got my picture for the wall.” He unrolled a sheet of poster paper, and revealed, to my astonishment, an exquisite sketch of a unicorn, rearing up on its hind legs in front of a backdrop of lush green forest. I said all the right approving things, but all I could think was “where did that come from?!”

Albert toiled for weeks, painstakingly recreating his work as a mural that spanned roughly 8 feet of hallway. The result was stunning. The other teachers didn’t say much, but once in a while I would catch them looking with veiled astonishment and grudging respect at Albert’s creation. Whatever else they might have thought about Albert, we all saw a part of him we had never imagined was there whenever we passed through that hallway.

I only spent two years at that school, leaving for a position in the city before Albert graduated. I don’t know if he ever did. I have always wondered what became of him. I hope that he found something worthwhile to take him far away from that town. I went back myself a few years ago, and had occasion to walk through the halls of the school.

Albert’s mural had been painted over.

It broke my heart.

When I knew I wanted to write this story, I combed through my albums in search of the one photo I remember taking of the mural. I couldn’t find it.

And it broke my heart all over again.

paint-wall-lg_A2

 

*name has been changed.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

Daily Prompt: Does it ever make sense to judge a book by its cover — literally or metaphorically? Tell us about a time you did, and whether that was a good decision or not.

About Muddy River Muse

Writer. Reader Educator. Manager. Mother. Dreamer. And dedicated riverbank walker.
This entry was posted in Freshly Pressed, Memory Lane, Why I Teach and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Seeing the whole picture

  1. Lenore says:

    As I read your article I looked across the room at a Leaning Tree card from Anita which was of a unicorn rearing up….artist..Josephine Wall. Very ethereal. Two Swans were incorporated.

  2. Tig says:

    No words – you used all the best ones. Also, crying too much to type much. OK – those WERE some words. But all the same…

  3. Tig says:

    Reblogged this on Starring Role in YOUR own Life and commented:
    We all need a nudge, some validation or belief in us to become Stars in our own lives. This beautiful blog perfectly exemplifies this point.

  4. alienorajt says:

    An enormously moving story, Anna. You clearly brought the absolute best out in Albert – and, even though the mural no longer exists in reality (what a shame), his creation of it will never disappear, nor the memories associated with that wonderful act. xxx

  5. Gloria says:

    I hope your encouragement helped Albert have some faith in himself in order to find his niche where his talent is appreciated. Thank you from all of us who didn’t fit the mold.

  6. I may never know precisely what he took away from the experience. But I know that the things I learned have stayed with me for 30 years.

  7. People with so much left brain strength often find it difficult to get the right side going. If you look back through history at the true creative geniuses, you will find many Alberts. Unfortunately, many of those ended up in poverty, and some just went crazy trying to fit society’s mold. Thanks for the story, and congratulations on helping one Albert in the world.

    • I watched a lot of creative students struggle to fit into the school system. I always tried to make my classes as much of a safe haven as the restrictions the system placed on ME would allow.

  8. This is a beautiful piece and one that needs circulation in so many venues – school administration is one. As I was reading I hoped that you had managed to post a photo. I share your heartbreak. Thank you.

  9. evehoney27 says:

    aww my heart broke a little when i got to part about it being painted over 😦

  10. aqilaqamar says:

    I want to know Albert so badly after this. I so want to meet h8m.

Leave a Reply

