Your personal invitation to my 100th Blog Post Party!

When I first clicked “Publish” back in September I had no idea where this blog was going. It evolved, along with my newly restored ability to go for long walks, out of my time off work to recover from hip replacement surgery. My initial goals were to give myself an excuse to write more regularly, and to find an audience for my writing. The blog has been a success on both counts. While I haven’t been able to maintain the same pace since going back to work, I have managed to post at least once or twice a week even in my busiest times. I have been “Freshly Pressed” and managed to amass over 1000 followers– some of whom appear to be actual human beings, and a few of whom are actually interested in reading what I’ve written (as opposed to trying to entice me to buy their products or join their pyramid schemes… but hey, nobody said this was a perfect world.)

Yes, my daughter made this. From scratch. Did I mention her cakes were epic? The figures are made out of coloured chocolate. She even made the fondant. When I was 16 I hadn’t even heard of fondant.

Turns out, the best things about blogging are those actual human beings — both the ones who read and comment on my blog, and the ones whose writing engages and inspires me daily. So when I pondered how I could mark the milestone of my 100th blog post, it occurred to me that what I really wanted to do was to celebrate with those people whose blogs have been such an inspiration to me.

There are, however, some obvious logistical barriers. Most of my blogging friends live very far from me and from one another, and many of them blog anonymously. So as much as I would like to have my daughter whip up one of her epic cakes and have my blogging buddies over for a party, it’s not going be feasible.

Unless I make it a virtual party!

So, welcome to my 100th Blog Post Party. Break out the balloons, pour yourself a glass of your beverage of choice, and I’ll take you around the room and introduce you to the other guests.

There’s Matt from Must Be This Tall To Ride. Matt has just come through the toughest year of his life, but he has distilled an incredible amount of wisdom out of the pain of his divorce. I look forward daily to his insightful writing as he navigates his single life and the challenges of part-time parenting. And speaking of distilling tough life experiences into some amazing writing, I’d like you to meet Fish of Gold, Ziya Tamesis at A Day with Depression and Jess at The Fevered Pen.

I have become very fond of little Phillip through the stories and pictures his mom shares on That Cynking Feeling. Elizabeth at Living with Autism also blogs eloquently about her experiences parenting her autistic son, Dylan.

I’m impressed by those bloggers who can manage to produce interesting reading day in and day out, like Alienora Taylor at ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND! , Doobster at Mindful Digressions and Pat at Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss.

As a “woman of a certain age,” it has been a delight to share my midlife journey with the likes of Bulging Buttons, Elyse at FiftyFour and a Half, and Renee at Life in the Boomer Lane.

Some of you, like Tyler Pedersen at The Ancient Eavesdropper, make beautiful pictures.

Some of you make me think, like Ryan at Rumblings.

Some of you make me laugh, like Arden at Writing While Wining (Caturday!)

Lots of you make me laugh while you’re making me think.

I could go on.

Come to think of it, it’s just as well this is a virtual party. I don’t think I have enough dessert plates to invite everyone.

Welcome one and all. I’m glad to have you in my life. Let the partying begin!

party

I promise I won’t make you wear the hats. That’s a Christmas party thing in my world. But if you DO have a tissue paper hat kicking around and you WANT to wear it to my blog party, I won’t judge.

 

Postscript: Since I just posted this a few days ago, I’m going to cheat and link it up to today’s Daily Prompt.  Because it’s my party and I’ll cheat if I want to!

 

 

 

About Muddy River Muse

Writer. Reader Educator. Manager. Mother. Dreamer. And dedicated riverbank walker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Your personal invitation to my 100th Blog Post Party!

  1. goldfish says:

    Congratulations! Thanks for inviting me to your party.

  2. Doobster418 says:

    Congratulations on 100 posts and thank you for inviting me to your virtual party. I am, indeed, an actual human being who happens to spend a lot of time in a virtual world. I’m all decked out in my virtual party hat and I’m licking your daughter’s virtual, made from scratch cake from my fingertips (and that cake was virtually delicious, by the way). I’m looking forward to your next 100! Yay!

  3. Vernon DePape says:

    Congratulations

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. Congratulations and thanks for including me among such esteemed company!
    xo, BB

  5. Teresa says:

    I’m not a blogger, but I am an interested reader, a real person with nothing to sell. Congratulations on 100; I’ve followed them all.

  6. Ryan says:

    Congratulations on 100 posts! I enjoy your writing, and look forward to the next 100.

  7. angloswiss says:

    What a wonderful way to celebrate and I feel very much at home here with all the guests. thankyou for the invitation, and I loved the blog food served.

  8. Liz says:

    Wow! 6.30 in the morning and a party before work 🙂 Cake, balloons and tissue hats: my heart’s delight. Congratulations on 100 posts my muddy river muse! It has been a joy finding your blog – I love your posts. Thank you for inviting me to your party. Here’s to the next 100! x

  9. alienorajt says:

    A wonderful, life-affirming post, Lisa – really enjoyed reading it. Sounds as if we are roughly contemporaneous – or Crone-Bound, as I say in my more flippant moments! Thanks so much for mentioning me: that was an unexpected treat to the soul. xxx

  10. alienorajt says:

    ps: just realised I don’t actually know your name – and cannot, for the life of me, think why I have appended ‘Lisa’ to you. Apologies if you are, in fact, called something entirely different!

  11. Congrats on the milestone! I’m off to read the who’s who on the guest list!

  12. Congratulations! Virtual parties are my favorite. I can wear my sweatpants and have no pressure to make small talk.

  13. Thanks to everyone who joined the party!

  14. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s My Party but I will only be there as an Observer | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  15. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s My Party | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  16. Jill M. says:

    Late to the party but being virtual I figure better late than never. Glad you’re out walking and keeping up the writing. Here’s to the next 100.

Leave a Reply

